Services – New Owner Handover

  Services

In this guide, you will learn:

Handover preparation

Each service that you manage from your customer account is self-contained. All data required for operation are stored directly with the service as such.

Changing the customer account data or moving the service to another customer has no effect on the data of the specific service (invoicing data, owner/operator data).

Therefore, before handing over the service, make sure to set the new owner’s billing information. Follow the instructions in the article Services – Update Billing Information.

WEDOS Example update of customer (billing) information
Example update of customer (billing) information

Domain Handover

If you have already set the new owner’s billing information, you can proceed to the next step, which is to change the owner of the domain according to the article Domain – Change (Update) Owner.

WEDOS Example change of domain owner
Example change of domain owner

You can then move the domain to the customer account of the new owner according to the Services – Move Between Accounts. However, the new owner can move it themselves using the AUTH-ID, or they can transfer it to another registrar. Transferring the domain has no effect on the DNS servers (NSSET) and owner.

Hosting service handover

If you have already set the new owner’s billing information, you can proceed to the next step, which is to change the service operator. This is the same for all hosting services and takes place according to the instructions in the article Services – Change Operator.

You can then move the hosting service to the customer account of the new owner according to the Services – Move Between Accounts guide.

Common Issues

The most common issues with handing over services are:

Invoices Go to the Original Owner

Issue: I handed over a domain to its new owner, but I’m still getting bills.

Cause: This problem has two common causes: either you transferred only the domain and are still receiving invoices for untransferred web hosting (or vice versa), or you did not change the billing data in the system permanently, i.e. according to the instructions for changing the billing data of services.

Solution: Terminate the services that you do not want to transfer or pay for. Services in another customer account can only be edited by the owner of this account or an authorized user. If you don’t have authorization, ask us to contact the new owner to update the billing information for the service. However, the change itself is up to the owner.

FAQ

Question: Will the new owner have access to my billing history?
Answer: The new owner can’t see any service history that contains personal information, except for current billing information, if you leave yours there.

Děkujeme za zpětnou vazbu!